Day 7–Lives and Philosophies: Part One

June 1, 2009

The unexamined life is not worth living.

If you want to change the world, to solve others’ problems, you must first understand yourself: your motivations, your rationality, and your purpose must be completely within your knowledge. There is no way to relate to the outside world without first relating to yourself. Ask yourself: What kind of person am I? What traits apply to me? And, why?

This week, each day’s task will have the end purpose of self-reflection, enabling you to develop a clear life philosophy. As the week progresses, ask yourself: Why do I act as I do? Why do I enjoy what I enjoy? What do I believe to be right?

Today, I want you to focus on one thing: what makes you happy. Today, ask yourself: “What would make me fulfilled? What do I need to make my life complete?” There is a difference between greed and self fulfillment–today, focus on self-fulfillment. What would make you complete as a person? The answer can only be determined by you yourself.

Getting to know yourself can be a revolutionary act. Today, let’s start the revolution.

See you tomorrow.

5 Responses to “Day 7–Lives and Philosophies: Part One”

  1. Mike said

    I’m interested like you, in personal responsibility for change. I’d like to hear if I may ask about how your efforts in your life are working, which struggles and achievements you are getting. That is inspiring to me as I struggle with mine. I appreciate your efforts on this blog. I would like to hear and see what the person behind the blog is doing. You can see my interests at mine – hotch potch, bit by bit.
    regards.

  2. buddz said

    “The unexamined life is not worth living.”
    I guess I can see what you are trying to say but I still disagree. The most basic example would be that of a disabled child who can not think (examine) clearly. It’s life is still worth living thought it can probably never understand where it came from and what it is doing. I do appreciate your blog and I will continue to visit it in the future.
    Thanks for posting.

    • powerintruth said

      I apologize.

      The purpose of the statement was merely to encourage everyone to understand their lives to the best of their capabilities.

      Certainly, everyone’s capabilities are different. All they can do is the best with what they have been given.

      We cannot ask more of anyone.

  3. comrie said

    Brilliant…It does all start with you and me as individuals…

  4. MrBlueSkies said

    Some people go through life never being able to answer those questions. And maybe I don’t know all those answers myself but there’s nothing wrong with a little self examination.

Leave a Reply

